Tags

, ,

This morning, I had a hankering for something bread-y and sweet.  Nothing of the sort was found in the kitchen, so I tried to look for a quick recipe.  I found a quick bread type recipe in my Wycliffe Cookbook for Welsh Griddle Cakes.  I decided to add a bit of cinnamon and substitute raisins with dried cherries instead (leftover from Chocolate Cherry Rum Cheesecake from Trout Point Lodge near Halifax, Nova Scotia).

Rhys has a recipe for Welsh Griddle Cakes, too (I have not tried it, but since he’s Welsh, I figured it’s reliable), so you can try both to see which one you like!  You can find the history for Welsh Griddle Cakes here.  Quite interesting!

The result was delightful!  I had something bread-y in less than 20 minutes!  A recipe that was satisfying to the taste buds.

Welsh Cinnamon-Cherry Griddle Cakes
Combine:
1 c. flour
1/4 c. sugar
1 t. baking powder
1/8 t. salt

Using a pastry cutter or fork:
1/4 c. butter, chilled/cold

Add:
1/4 c. dried cherries
1/4 t. cinnamon
2-4 T. evaporated milk, or enough to just make the dough come together

Form little balls and press into patties about 1/4-1/2 inch thick and grill on a well floured griddle until golden brown.  Serve with butter and/or honey, or eat plain!

