Tags

, ,

Pumpkin Pie with Walnut-Graham Cracker Crust

Every fall since I’ve been married, I’ve made at least a few pumpkin pies.  Each year, I love looking forward to the wonderful taste of pumpkin melting in my mouth along with the freshly whipped heavy whipping cream.  So this year I wanted to spice up the traditional pumpkin pie by altering the crust.  This idea came from a friend whose Halloween party I attended a week ago.  She put pecans in the crust of pumpkin cheesecake squares (delish!).  So, I searched online for a recipe and came across a pretty basic walnut-graham cracker crust.  I altered it by adding some sugar since walnut can sometimes have a slightly bitter taste to it.  The recipe goes like this:

Walnut-Graham Cracker Crust
3/4 cup finely crushed graham cracker (original/plain or cinnamon works too)
3/4 cup finely chopped/crushed walnuts
3 T. butter, melted
3 T. white sugar

Mix all ingredients together and press into pie mold.

For the filling, I used the traditional “Pumpkin Pie” recipe from Libby’s (the canned pumpkin company), but I used my own freshly roasted and then pureed Sugar Pumpkin.

I served it with freshly whipped whipping cream (you can’t have Pumpkin Pie without whipped cream!).  It made for a wonderful dessert!

What type of pie do you like in the fall?

 

