Tags

, , ,

I’m now playing as a rehearsal pianist for “Miracle on 34th Street, the Musical”  at a local cultural arts center, so that means I’m gone evenings tickling the ivories for the next 6 weeks.  Well, I got home 2 nights ago at 9:30pm from rehearsal and felt like eating something sweet.  We had nothing sweet in the house, so I decided that rather dismiss my craving for something sweet, I should do something about it and make something sweet.

Since I didn’t want to spend a whole hour baking cookies or cupcakes or something else elaborate and involved, I tried to think of something cookie-like, that would be quick and easy.  I remembered that while I was in China, a teammate of mine would always make “No-Bake Cookies,” that were yummy and quick, so I flipped through a cookbook and found a recipe for “No-Bakes.”

It was pleasantly surprising to find that the “No-Bakes” were truly simple, with just a few ingredients and steps.  I made them in about 5 minutes, altering the recipe a bit by adding extra crunchy peanut butter and cinnamon (to make it more Fall-ish) and then put them in the fridge to allow them to set for about 15-20 minutes.

A perfect before-bedtime-snack.  Quick, easy and…above all else, chocolatey.  🙂

No-Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Here is the recipe.  I halved the recipe and it still turned out great!  It was taken from the Wycliffe Cookbook.

No-Bake Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies
Boil together for 5 minutes:
1 1/2-2 cups sugar
1/4-1/2 cup cocoa
1/3-1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup milk
1 t. salt

Remove from heat.  Immediately add:
3 cups oatmeal
1 1/2 t. vanilla
nuts, optional

Drop, by tablespoons on waxed paper (or silicon baking sheet) to cool or spread on cookie sheet to harden.  Cut into bars.

