Tags

,

it’s time for a wine party!!  The recent humid and rainy weather in Cleveland is no excuse to whine and complain…Nick and I are hosting a fall/autumn B.Y.O.Wine party in a few weeks!  Each time I sit down to go through my prep list, I get more excited about it!  I think the main thing is that I don’t get stressed about it.  The more I stay relaxed, the more it is actually fun for me…that’s something I’ve learned through the short years I’ve lived this life.

Anyway, with that aside, we are planning to have guests bring their own wine (hence the “B-Y-O” theme) and we are providing the hors d’oeuvres and dessert.  Margaret from “Adventures of Baby Boyardie” recommended a great NYTimes article, “A Dinner Party that’s Warm, Welcoming and Meatless,” and I think I’m going to use some of the recipes from it.  It’s a great article if you’re interested in reading it for ideas.  The fall is a great time to try some vegetarian dishes because of what’s available.  Squash is key to having fun vegetarian dishes (in my opinion)!

Some of the hors d’oeuvres on the list for consideration are:

  1. Pear, Gorgonzola, Walnut Pizza
  2. Harvest Tart with Pumpkin, Roasted Red Peppers and Olives
  3. Hummus
  4. Salami
  5. Sausage
  6. Roasted Garlic and Scallion Cream Cheese Dip
  7. Phyllo-wrapped Brie with Apricot and Rosemary Chutney
  8. Fried Chickpeas
  9. Butternut Squash and Sage Crostini
  10. Tomato, Mozzarella and Thai Basil Crostini
  11. Thyme Gougeres
  12. Spelt Crust Pizza with Fennel, Prosciutto and Apple
  13. Antipasto
  14. Chocolate Cherry Run Cheesecake

Now, the next step is to narrow down the list to about 7-8 items, some of which should be “day-before” prep.  The 7-8 items should also be a good variety, able to be paired with either a red or a white wine.  Who knows, perhaps all of our friends will bring one type of wine…we’ll see.  That’s the exciting part with BYO parties.  You never know what someone will bring!  I’ll update you on the process of elimination upon its completion.

There will be a future post about the decorations for this party…

What is your favorite type of wine and food pairing?

