Tags

, , ,

I recently made a rose-scented homemade laundry detergent.  It is the first detergent I’ve made and it’s working so far!

The reason behind this homemade laundry detergent venture is mainly: to save money.

It’s astonishing how laundry detergent costs so much and how often you need to buy it.  At close to $11/1.13 gal, 4-5 times a year (or more…for a larger family), laundry detergent alone can cost you up to $50-60/year.  Well, I thought to myself, “There must be a way to get your laundry clean with basic cleaning agents that are natural and affordable.”  So, I started researching and keeping an ear out for easy recipes that used ingredients that were natural and cost-efficient.

At the weekly mom’s group that I meet with, I learned some very low cost recipes for soaps a month or so ago, and so I decided that I’d give one of them a try.  I tried the liquid laundry detergent that used Castille soap (Dr. Bronner’s), basic body soap, washing soda and Borax.

Dr. Bronner’s Soap is a diamond find that I am sad to have just learned about!  If I had known about it earlier, I would’ve long ago invested in it.

Anyway, the recipe can be found here, at The Simple Dollar, and it includes the cost breakdown of each batch made. You can get washing soda online for a pretty good price, or at some grocery stores.  If you take this recipe from The Simple Dollar and add about 1/2 c. Castille Soap (scented), you’ll get a nice fresh and sweet scent…very subtle.  The amazing thing is that this recipe will last you the whole year!  And it only costs $8.00 or so (compared to the $60 that you could spend).  The same clean clothes, for much less!  Why not try it?

What type of laundry detergent do you use?  Have you calculated how much you spend on detergent every year?  You’ll be surprised!

