Tags

, , , ,

I’d prefer to call these muffins “Harvest Muffins” because it is uses ingredients that would be harvested around this time.  And it just sounds like a good name.

This recipe was from King Arthur Flour, which is, like I’ve said before, one of my “go-to” websites for baked goods.  They have a wide range of kitchen tested recipes that usually turn out wonderfully.  King Arthur Flour also has a great baker’s hotline that you can contact via email or live!chat 24/7.  It’s pretty convenient and I’ve used the hotline a few times when I’ve run into baking quandaries.

Anyhow, this muffin recipe was a great reason to use my “bigger” muffin tin that I found at a garage sale for $0.50!  It was a great find and since I make muffins a lot for weekend breakfasts, it was a good investment.  Yes, even $0.50 can be an investment!

You can find the recipe here:  Morning Glory Muffins  The thing that’s nice about the website is that it also includes the nutrition facts about each serving (one muffin).  This muffin has minimal oil and also contains healthy complex carb ingredients that will keep you full for longer.

It got good reviews from previous users of the recipe and I must say that I would also give it a good review.  I substituted 1/8 c. lemon juice + 1/8 c. applesauce for the 1/4 c. orange juice and it worked out well. I believe that adding some stone rolled oats would also make for a pretty good outcome.

I not only like the baked outcome of this recipe, but also like how it calls for household staples (carrots, dried sweetened coconut flakes…which I usually have on hand, walnuts, apples) and would be a good recipe to use if you don’t want to run out to the store last minute.

Here’s how they turned out.  Delish!

Harvest Muffins (a.k.a. Morning Glory Muffins)


 

