Tags

,

Last week at Aldi’s they had a bunch of seasonal baking items in stock for the first time this season.  Among them were bags of butterscotch chips.  Now, you’ll need to know that I’ve never baked anything with butterscotch chips and have never really had a huge liking for the butterscotch taste, but I know that a lot of people love the taste of butterscotch and that butterscotch baked goods are often one of the first things to be consumed out of a spread of desserts.  So, I figured that if I made something with butterscotch in it, it’d get eaten eventually.

So, I bought 1 bag of butterscotch chips from Aldi’s.

When I got home, I thought to myself, “Self, you’ve not made peanut butter cookies in a long time…you should make some.  It seems like a good fall taste…”  And so the brilliant idea of combining peanut butter and butterscotch came into my head!

So, I decided to make peanut butter-butterscotch cookies.  I found a recipe for peanut butter cookies on Allrecipes.com (my first go-to webpage for all things cooking and baking) and altered it a bit by cutting out 1/2 the sugar and adding 1 tsp. vanilla.  I figured the butterscotch chips would make up for the halving of sugar.  Butterscotch chips are super sweet.  And instead of adding 2 cups of butterscotch chips (the average addition of chips to any cookie recipe seems to be 2 cups), I added only 1 1/2 cups (again, they’re super sweet).

The result was wonderfully light tasting cookie that looked great and tasted great straight out of the oven!

Perhaps I’ve found a way to use butterscotch chips in a way that satiates my taste buds.

Peanut butter butterscotch cookies

What is your favorite cookie?

