Tags

, ,

The Heart Attack Stack

On the meal plan for the week, tonight was hamburger night.  When I planned this hamburger dinner, it was just a general plan of having hamburgers; I hadn’t figured out the logistics and fanciness meter of this meal.  Well, turns out our family can’t ever just have “the most simple” meal.  We turned this hamburger night into “The Heart Attack Stack,” at least that’s what I’m going to call it.  Nick really liked it…he had two. That’s two heart attacks.

It's as tall as my head is tall...

I found this recipe online for nice, juicy hamburger patties, though I altered the recipe a bit and substituted 1.5 slices of whole wheat bread for the dry bread crumbs and I also substituted 3 Tablespoons of regular 2% milk for the evaporated milk (who just has evaporated milk??).  The patties turned out great!  I added some pepper jack cheese on top, to make it into a cheeseburger.

Hamburger Patties with Pepper Jack Cheese

Then, as I was cutting up the hamburger dressings (lettuce, tomato and onion), I remembered that Nick didn’t like his onions raw because of the aftertaste it leaves in your mouth.  So, I thought to myself, “I could make just plain grilled onions, or I could make onion rings.”  I asked Nick what he thought and he encouraged me to try the onion rings!  It was my first time making homemade onion rings, or anything THAT fried (I normally like to cook healthier dishes) and it was a grand success!

So, I found this recipe with great ratings from a lot of people and tried it!  For my first shot at onion rings, I would say that it was a tremendous success!  🙂  Deep frying stuff is just generally the same base rule…keep the oil hot and make sure you don’t leave stuff in the oil for too long.  Take it out before it gets dark brown because the stuff looks darker when you take it out than when it’s in the oil.

Homemade Onion Rings

The Final Count

Aldi’s Hamburger Buns $0.79 for 8
Polansky’s (Local meat deli) 1 lb. Ground Beef $5.72
Sam’s Club 1 large onion $0.89
Aldi’s 1 egg, flour…cheap enough…
Aldi’s beefsteak tomato- 4 slices $0.35
Aldi’s Pepper Jack Cheese- 8 slices $.89
Giant Eagle Romaine Lettuce- just a few leaves…$0.00
Total for 4 hamburgers:  $8.64

Not bad for a gourmetly great meal…

Heart Attack Stack and Homemade Onion Rings.  MMMmmm.

