Tags

, , , ,

i had 3 things on the counter top today and noticed that they were all brown…the three things were:
1.  homemade fudgesicles
2.  chocolate zucchini bread
3.  a new tortilla warmer

Homemade Fudgesicles
Who knew?  JELLO must’ve made their instant chocolate pudding boxes just for people wanting to make fudgesicles!  The 4- 1/2 cup servings fit perfectly into my popsicle mold (6 popsicles), with just enough for me to lick the rest off of the spatula.  MM-mm.  🙂  So here’s a picture of my homemade fudgesicles.  The popsicle mold is from World Market. 

World Market Popsicle Molds

Chocolate Zucchini Bread
I used a recipe that I found in my cookbook in order to determine if the recipe was worth keeping…

To my disapointment, the recipe could not compare to the recipe I used once before (Click for link: Chocolate Zucchini Bread I). The loaves turned out too dry and crumbly…the recipe had too much flour for the amount of zucchini it had.  Zucchini Bread is normally known for its moistness (courtesy of the zucchini) and richness; unfortunately, that could not be said for these two loaves.  I may just be being overly critical…it was edible and we ate it no problem, but it wasn’t anything to write home about.  Secondly, the order in which the ingredients were assembled was a bit more like a cake than a quick bread.  Thirdly, the recipe called for butter instead of oil, which also changes the degree of moistness.  And lastly, the chocolate flavor overpowered the zucchini taste immensely, to a point where you couldn’t even taste the zucchini anymore.  Saaad.  Suffice it to say that I took that recipe from my cookbook and threw it into the trash.  Note to self:  Use the Allrecipes.com recipe from now on. 

Dry Chocolate Zucchini Bread (might as well just call it Chocolate Bread)

Tortilla Warmer
Aldi’s had a great deal today on this tortilla warmer, so even though it wasn’t in the budget to get, I decided to carpe diem and get it.  So here it is, for $5.99:

Aldi's Tortilla Warmer

 

The warming stone (brand new)

 3 brown things on the counter top…a random palette of brown.

